Peace of Mind

February 22, 2009 at 3:42 pm (people, Starweek)

Jose Ramos-Horta

Jose Ramos-Horta

About three hours before 1pm on January 14, I found out that I would be interviewing Nobel Peace Prize Laureate Jose Ramos-Horta. He was giving a lecture at La Salle on that day, and press was not allowed any interviews. I got an exclusive, however, being from La Salle and knowing Br. Armin. The catch was, I could only ask three questions.

The security in the building that day was so tight. You could only access certain floors, depending on what ID you had. Everyone was tense and quiet. When I finally got to talk to him, he was very accommodating and though I only talked to him briefly, his answers were quite profound.

When he gave his speech he talked to the audience like he would a friend over coffee. I think what makes him a Nobel Prize winner (aside from his accomplishments) is that he relates with everyone. He can talk about peace, justice, freedom, politics — and make us understand what he is talking about, make us realize the gravity of what is going on around us. It is not just great minds that make a Nobel laureate; it is, more so, the way they make any ordinary person understand great ideas, be affected by these, and be enriched by their great minds.

at DLSU

at DLSU

“I’m still the same human being with the same beliefs, the same principles, virtues – and flaws.” -Jose Ramos-Horta

Read the full starweek article here.

1 Comment

  1. Reggie said,

    Scoop! 🙂

Leave a comment